Dating back to the 11th century, the remains of one of the earliest stone castles in England can be seen in the picturesque little village of Eynsford. The man-made site had been in use during Saxon times, but work on the castle did not begin until 1088 when William de Eynsford inherited the manor from his father. The estate was sold to the Harts of nearby Lullingstone Castle in the early 16th century, and it was their descendants who converted the ruins of Eynsford Castle for use as stables and hunting kennels in the mid 18th century. By the end of the 19th century preservation work had begun but, unfortunately, the castle ruins were largely unrecognisable through natural decay and neglect. Vast craggy sections of the curtain wall have survived, some standing to a height of 30ft. Yet among these long-abandoned, rugged stone structures, Eynsford Castle manages to cling onto an air of romanticism.
Kent DA4 0AA
- Telephone: 0870 3331181
- Location: Junction 3 off the M25, follow signs for A225 Eynsford
- Opening times: Open daily Summer 10.00 - 18.00 Winter 10.00 - 16.00
- Prices: Free
- Website: www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/eynsford-castle