White Cliffs of Dover

There can be no doubting that the White Cliffs of Dover are one this country’s most spectacular natural features. They have been a sign of hope and freedom for centuries and millions of people wonder at them every year as they cross the Channel. Thousands more now enjoy their special appeal through the seasons by taking the cliff top paths and seeing the rare flora and fauna.
In 1989 the National Trust purchased the South Foreland Lighthouse from Trinity House. Records show that a light has been displayed from the position since 1367, although the current building was erected as recently as 1843 as one of a pair to protect shipping from floundering on the Goodwin Sands. The Lighthouse was the first in the world to use electricity and was also the site of the first ship to shore and international radio communications by Marconi. As there is no vehicular access to the Lighthouse, the best way to visit the building is to park at the White Cliffs Visitor Centre and enjoy the breathtaking 40 – 50 minute walk along the top of the cliff tops.


White Cliffs of Dover

Useful Information

Opening Times - Car Park 07.30 - 18.00
Visitor Centre 10.00 - 17.00

Facilities at Visitors Centre

• Shop
• Tea Room
• Interpretation

Useful Link