Explore this beautiful parkland using permissive footpaths made available through an Environmental Stewardship agreement funded by Natural England. Torry Hill Park was created around 1840 when parts of the 18 th Century road and field system were removed to create open parkland, tracts of woodland were absorbed, boundary strips were planted and an avenue lined carriage drive was laid out. Walk along the serpentine route through Sweet’s Wood and under the flint bridge on Coalpit Lane. The parkland also comprises pasture, arable farmland and woodland, and is scattered with fine specimen trees some of which are veteran age. Environmental Stewardship is helping to restore the parkland to its late Victorian splendour by supporting the extensive reversion of arable areas to sheep grazed pasture, the restoration of the park tree structure and the opening up of some views. The permissive footpaths provide circular walks round the parkland features or link in with existing public rights of way to create longer routes. For more detail on this and other parkland in the Kent Downs AONB contact 01303 815170 for a leaflet.
Open all year though some areas may be muddy underfoot during wet months
Parking on concrete area next to grain silos off the road at Torry Hill Farm